City of Vienna

Vienna, Austria’s capital, lies in the country’s east on the Danube River. Its artistic and intellectual legacy was shaped by residents including Mozart, Beethoven, and Sigmund Freud. The city is also known for its Imperial palaces, including Schönbrunn, the Habsburgs’ summer residence. In the Museums Quartier district, historic and contemporary buildings display works by Egon Schiele, Gustav Klimt, and other artists.

University of Vienna

Founded by Duke Rudolph IV in 1365, the University of Vienna is the oldest university in the German-speaking world, and one of the largest universities of Europe. Currently, about 94,000 students are enrolled at the University of Vienna. They can select from 187 degree programmes: 55 bachelor's programmes, 116 master's programmes, 4 diploma programmes, and 12 doctoral programmes. With 9,600 employees, of whom 6,700 are academics, the University of Vienna is the largest teaching and research institution in Austria.